Five Minute Friday: Exhale

{Five Minute Friday is a brilliant blog exercise started by the lovely and eloquent Lisa-Jo Baker. The idea is that, the world over, we gather together and write completely unedited for five minutes. We turn off that inner critic, the one who says we have nothing to say. That our stories and words are too small. No one will listen. And we take a deep breath, set the timer, and let it out.

Today’s prompt is Exhale.}

Exhale. 

It is finished. My soul work. My soul distilled into over 10,000 words of fiction. 

Pain and hope crafted and forged into words and story that hopefully will reach beyond me and touch others. 

And now I let it rest. I put this soul work aside for a month before I revisit it. 

And sit back. And wait. And watch. Entering into this season of exhalation is difficult. Oh, this, this waiting, this resting of the mind and hands, I am not good at it. 

It’s frightening. 

it’s not where I want to be, if I’m quiet honest with myself. 

Because i want this, this thing that I’ve poured so much of myself into, to be right and perfect and good. It’s nakedness and hope and fear and joy. It’s me. Or at least, it’s a part of me. 

And I’m far more comfortable working feverishly, fingers outyping the shadows that nip at my heels day in and day out. 

But there is a time for fast typing and crafting. And there’s a time for waiting. 

Exhale. 

It’ll be okay. 

Exhale. 

Breathe, baby girl, breathe. 

This is my daily refrain. this is what I say when I wake up and when I do dishes and comfort baby-cries and husband sighs and then lay myself down to rest. Exhale. Don’t hold it in till you explode. 

Waiting is the hardest part sometimes. 

But it is also healing and necessary. The exhalation releases the toxins, it releases the tension. 

Besides, if I never exhale, I’ll never again get to inhale. 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Exhale

Leave a Reply

